Masterworks 1:
Stories of Love & Nature

Sunday, October 15, 2023 
7:30 pm

Exhibition Hall at Longwood Gardens
Michael Hall, Conductor


Glenn Buhr - Akasha (Sky)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart -Violin Concerto No.4 - Risa Hokamura - soloist


Felix Mendelssohn - The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave)
Jean Sibelius - Pelleas and Melisande

Enjoy an exploration of themes of love and nature in the beautiful surroundings of Longwood Gardens. Taking inspiration from Hindu poetry, Canadian composer Glenn Buhr wrote a lighter-than-air piece entitled Akasha; Sanskrit for Sky. Mendelssohn was inspired by the rugged islands off Scotland’s coast to write the Hebrides, whereas Sibelius captured in music the tragic love story of Pelleas and Melisande.

Please select a performance


Adults - $55
Students up to age 18 - $10

PLUS $6 order fee, per order