Individual Tickets | Subscriptions


Sunday, January 23, 2022
3:00 PM Cary Hall, Lexington

Errollyn WALLEN Photography: Movement 1 (2007)
MOZART Violin Concerto No.1 in B-flat Major, K. 207
MOZART Rondo in B-flat Major for Violin and Orchestra, K. 269
HAYDN Symphony No. 49 in F minor, Hob. 1:49

Kevin Rhodes, conductor
Steven Copes, violin

In January, Pro Arte welcomes back violinist Steven Copes, Concertmaster of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, for a concert of contemporary and Classical works.

Belizean-British composer Errollyn Wallen wrote Photography in 2005 as a series of snapshots inspired by musical memories. Its first movement, based on what she calls “a simple motif,” opens the program with irrepressible vibrancy.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed his graceful First Violin Concerto while only in his late teens. Although the Rondo in B-flat, written a few years later, was intended as a replacement for the concerto’s finale, Mr. Copes and Pro Arte will perform it independently, according to modern practice.

It is unclear whether the nickname of Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 49, La passione, refers to the character of its music, but it still perfectly describes this somber work. The symphony burns with intensity from beginning to end and brings the concert to an impassioned close.

Errollyn Wallen
Kevin Rhodes
Steven Copes

Buy Tickets


Sunday, February 13, 2021
3:00 PM Allen Center for Arts and Culture, Newton

MARSALIS At the Octoroon Balls

One of Pro Arte's regular string quartets joins forces with the Janelle Gillchrist Dance Troupe for an interdisciplinary exploration of Wynton Marsalis's first string quartet.

Buy Tickets


Sunday, March 13, 2021
3:00 PM Allen Center for Arts and Culture, Newton

A program featuring members of Pro Arte's string section. Full program details to be announced soon.

Pro Arte strings

Guest Artists TBA

Buy Tickets


Sunday, April 10, 2021
3:00 PM Allen Center for Arts and Culture, Newton

Pro Arte's principal winds and principal horn come together to present a colorful concert for wind quintet.

Buy Tickets


Sunday, May 1, 2022
3:00 PM Venue announcement coming soon.

RAVEL Le tombeau de Couperin (1919)
BERNSTEIN Three Meditations from Mass (1977)
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 11

Paul Polivnik, conductor
Leo Eguchi, cello

Paul Polivnik makes a return appearance in the spring to conduct Pro Arte in a powerful program of Ravel, Bernstein, and Mendelssohn.

Maurice Ravel dedicated each movement of his colorful Le tombeau de Couperin to a different friend who died in World War I. But as a twentieth-century emulation of the Baroque dance suite, the work also pays tribute to French composers of the eighteenth-century, such as the eponymous François Couperin.

Far from being a strictly liturgical setting, Leonard Bernstein’s Mass is an elaborate theatrical production for hundreds of singers, instrumentalists, and dancers. Bernstein created his evocative Three Meditations, featuring cellist Leo Eguchi, out of the most prayerful and passionate moments from his eclectic score.

Felix Mendelssohn’s talents as a prodigy are on full display in his boldly confident First Symphony, composed when he was only fifteen. Although he was inspired by Mozart and Beethoven, the symphony bustles with a stormy energy that is characteristically Mendelssohnian.

Paul Polivnik 
Leo Eguchi 

Buy Tickets


Proof of vaccination is required to enter all performances. All patrons are asked to wear a mask at all times while within our performance venues.

Visit for the details of our safety protocols for the return to live music making at this time.

Have a code?

If you have a coupon, gift certificate, or pass code, please enter it here: